Count Basie Orchestra with NYV CD


Out of stock



LIVE AT MANCHESTER CRAFTSMEN’S GUILD won the 1997 Grammy Award for Best Large Jazz Ensemble Performance. Recorded live at Manchester Craftsmen’s Guild, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania on February 10, 1996. This lesser-known CD is of great interest, for it features the Count Basie Orchestra (under the direction of Grover Mitchell) in top form and, on four numbers, the New York Voices. The Voices sound perfectly at home, showing off their jazz chops on “Cottontail,” “In a Mellow Tone,” “Love Makes the World Go Round” and “Farmer’s Market.” Except for the latter, which has words by Annie Ross, all of the lyrics are by the great Jon Hendricks. Otherwise, the Basie Orchestra (with solos by pianist George Caldwell, trumpeter Bob Ojeda, trombonist Clarence Banks, tenor saxophonist Kenny Hing and a few others) performs spirited versions of their usual repertoire, including “Whirly Bird,” “Basie” and “Down for the Count.” An excellent set of typically swinging music, worth searching for.

The Count Basie Orchestra under the direction of Grover Mitchell
Peter Eldridge – Vocals
Lauren Kinhan – Vocals
Darmon Meader – Vocals, Soprano Sax
Kim Nazarian – Vocals

List of Tunes:
1. Down For The Count
2. Whirly Bird
3. Cottontail
4. In A Mellow Tone
5. Basie
6. Please Send Me Someone To Love
7. Bug Out
8. Love Makes The World Go Round
9. Farmer’s Market
10. Basie Power